Bloggy Brides – “Something Old, Something New, Something Borrowed and Something Blue”

Welcome back to my second Bloggy Brides post, last time it was all about my rebel moment when I broke all the dress shopping rules. Last week Rock&Roses Mama chatted all about her hen do. This week I’m taking you through my “Something old, something new, something borrowed and something blue”. As we all know there are lots of traditions when it comes to weddings: the bouquet over the shoulder, the best man’s speech  and someone getting far too drunk and making a tit out of themselves.

The tradition I’m talking about this week comes from the Old English Rhyme “Something Olde, Something New, Something Borrowed and Something Blue”.  Traditionally they are given to you just before your wedding, however I’m giving it a modern twist and I’m making them a part of my wedding outfit.

Something Olde

This is to represent continuity, for this I am lucky to have two items. One from my side of the family and one from Simons. From my side of the family I have my grandmothers veil from the early 60’s, it has the most delicate flowers in the lace and beading which will be refashioned into a comb. I’m also looking into having my Grandmothers wedding ring turned into my wedding ring, so I can always have a small part of her with me.

To represent Simon’s side I have my beautiful engagement ring which belonged to his Great Aunt Monica, who was an artist and famous goose breeder. My ring is from the early 1900’s and is a old fashioned cut which means all the diamonds are slightly different. I absolutely love it and couldn’t have picked better my self.

Something New

Traditionally this represents optimism for the future. My something new is my beautiful dress from the White Boutique in Leamington Spa. I love love love my dress and I would love to show you but its strictly under wraps until the big day. Sorry.

Something Borrowed

I have found this one so hard, I would love to have borrowed my Grans veil from her but sadly she isn’t here to grant my wish. The borrowed item symbolises borrowed happiness. One idea was to borrow some of my mothers earrings but we are having some made from the left over beads of my grandmothers veil. So I guess I’m still looking for my borrowed item (suggestions welcome).

Something Blue

This is to represent purity, love and fidelity. Now technically I won’t be wearing this item as we get hitched but I’ve chose blue wellies for my after party. I feel uncomfortable at formal do’s so to make sure we felt relaxed and so do our guests we are having a festival feel wedding day. So a pair of wellington boots were an absolute must!

So there you have my take on the olde tradition, let me know what items you had/or want on your wedding day. Don’t forget to check out the other lovely #bloggybrides Clara from Utterly Feral, Lianne from Mrs Mummy Harris and Rebecca from Rock & Roses Mama.

Until next time…

Lady Law Student

image20

7 thoughts on “Bloggy Brides – “Something Old, Something New, Something Borrowed and Something Blue”

Add yours

  1. I love how you have so much passed down from relatives. Unfortunately there isn’t many heir looms on either side but I used my MIL garter as a borrowed item. It’s over 30 years old and to have her offer it to me was lovely!! Plus I know nothing dirty happened that night so it didn’t feel wierd taking it haha

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

